Find us offline   Für Künstler
CITY Gallery, Vienna

Birthday of Pierre-August Renoir (1841-1918)

Start Date
25.02.2022
End Date
25.02.2022
Start Time
00:00
End Time
00:00
LOCATION
CITY Gallery, Vienna
Renoir was born into a working class family. His father was a tailor and his mother a dressmaker. When Pierre-Auguste was three years...

Renoir was born into a family of the Working class born. His father was a tailor and his mother a dressmaker. When Pierre-Auguste was three years old, the family moved to Paris and found accommodation near the Louvre, which at that time was not only a museum, but also housed offices and living quarters.

At the age of 13, Renoir began an apprenticeship as Porcelain painter on. At the age of 15, he had already mastered this so well that the manufactory entrusted him with demanding painting tasks that were otherwise reserved for experienced porcelain painters. He was able to live independently from his wages and even support his parents. Around this time, however, mechanical printing methods for porcelain became established, and the manufactory had to close when he was 17 years old. Renoir now had to make a living painting fans and awnings and coloring coats of arms.

Dancer, 1874 (Danseuse)

Renoir's impressionist phase

1861-1864 Renoir studied painting in the class of the Swiss painter Charles Gleyre. Soon, however, he sought out artistic role models other than his teacher, viz. Gustave Courbet and Díaz de la Peña, whom he had met by chance while painting in the forest and who encouraged him to always paint according to life and the model. He made friends with Claude MonetAlfred Sisley and Frédéric Bazille and painted with them together outdoors. In 1864, for the first time a picture of him was published for the Paris salon, often simply called Salon, adopted. In the Salon of 1868 he was with the picture Lise with the parasol represented, for the Lise Tréhot was a model. She was Renoir's mistress from about 1865 to 1871.

His outdoor experiences also had an impact on his studio paintings. Critics became aware of him and praised the freshness and naturalness of his paintings. Nevertheless, there were hardly any buyers. In 1869, Renoir lived in such abject poverty that, as he later wrote himself, he did not even have anything to eat every day.

The Lodge, 1874 (La loge)

In 1870, during the Franco-Prussian War, Renoir volunteered for a cavalry regiment, but was stationed just far from the fighting. In 1871, returning to Paris, he got caught up in the uprising of the Paris Commune. Forced into conscription by the Communards, he got into great trouble when he tried to escape from Paris and was captured by the troops of the opposite side.

After the war, he soon reconnected with his friends Monet and Sisley and spent much time together with them in the summers of the 1870s and with Édouard Manet. A well-known painting by him from that time shows the Monet family in the garden of their house in Argenteuil. From Manet there is his own interpretation of the same subject. Both Manet and Renoir had their Easels placed next to each other and painted the same scene.

Dance in the garden of the Moulin de la Galette, 1876
(Bal au Moulin de la Galette)

Renoir loved to depict social occasions and Joie de vivre into images. Despite the movements of the depicted persons as in Dance at the Moulin de la Galette and exuberance he integrated small Still life.

Unlike Monet and the other Impressionists, Renoir continued to strive to have his paintings included in the Salon, but in 1874 he participated enthusiastically in preparing and staging the first Impressionist exhibition, as well as the 1876 exhibition.

He managed to sell paintings to the art dealers Paul Durand-Ruel and Père-Martin for sale. Durand-Ruel, a great patron of the Impressionists, gave him money so that Renoir could rent a studio. However, this income was so scarce that it was just enough to cover his living expenses.

His financial situation took a turn for the better in the mid-1870s, when Renoir hired customs official Victor Chocquet and the publisher Georges Charpentier and received commissions from them for portraits and a large panel painting. Through the intercession of the influential Madame Charpentier his circle of acquaintances in better society expanded, and he received so many portrait commissions in the years that followed that they even became a nuisance to him at times.

In 1881/1882 Renoir made three major trips to Algeria, Italy, and back to Algeria. In 1882 he painted portraits in Palermo the composer Richard Wagner.

Post-Impressionist phase of life

Moulin Huet Bay (1883)

After a stay in Italy in 1881, while reading a manual for painters written around 1400, he was strongly oriented towards Raphael's Frescoes and an Jean-Auguste-Dominique Ingres, it began the Ingres period or also Dry period. Renoir began to reorient himself from the ground up, turning away from the spontaneous and drawing the forms more sharply, but remaining with the motifs full of vitality. He also turned away from Impressionism and towards the Classicism to. A trip in September 1883 took him to the island of Guernseywhere a number of paintings were created, among them Moulin Huet Bay.[1]

The great bathers, 1887 (Les Grandes Baigneuses)

Around 1883, Renoir entered a creative crisis. He felt lukewarm disinterest from the public and critics during that period, and he commented about himself that he was at an artistic impasse. The work of those years culminated in the painting The great bathers of 1887, in which he had invested years of preliminary studies and which contains a wealth of art historical quotations.

On March 23, 1885, his mistress Aline Charigot, whom he had met in the early 1880s and who had accompanied him to Italy, bore him his first child, the son Pierre Renoir,[2] who later became known as an actor. On April 14, 1890 Renoir married Aline. The second son Jean Renoir, born in 1894, later took up the profession of film director. The third son Claude, also called "Coco", was born on August 4, 1901.

At the end of the 1880s, he rediscovered his joy in colorfulness and fluid, sensual painting. The departure from his Impressionist painting style of the 1870s, however, remained definitive.

Pierre-Auguste Renoir, around 1910

Around 1892 Renoir showed the first signs of rheumatoid arthritis. At that time was mistakenly Gout diagnosed. He noticed through several spa stays that he felt better in the mild Mediterranean climate, and in 1907 he moved permanently to Les Collettes, a country house with a large garden in Cagnes-sur-Mer near Nice. In the 20th century, a museum was built there in his honor.[3]

Despite his illness, he painted incessantly. Renoir was now sitting in a wheelchair and, according to his own account, had his brush tied to his hand every day because he could no longer hold it. Through Aristide Maillol Renoir was given the opportunity to work with his student Richard Guino. Thus Renoir could once again realize with this collaboration works such as Venus Victrix, The Great Laundress (1917) and Mother and Child (1916), among others.[4].

Pïerre-Auguste Renoir died in 1919 at the age of 78 and left about 6000 works: landscapes, still lifes, portraits of adults and children, nudes, pictures of dancing pleasure and family life. His grave is located in the cemetery in Essoyes in the department Aube in the Champagne.

 

[Excerpt from Wikipedia as of 12/31/2021.]

en_US

Finde uns offline​   Für Künstler
CITY Gallery, Vienna

Geburtstag von Pierre-August Renoir (1841-1918)

Start Date
25.02.2022
End Date
25.02.2022
Start Time
00:00
End Time
00:00
LOCATION
CITY Gallery, Vienna
Renoir wurde als Kind einer Familie der Arbeiterklasse geboren. Sein Vater war Schneider und seine Mutter Zuschneiderin. Als Pierre-Auguste drei Jahre...

Renoir wurde als Kind einer Familie der Arbeiterklasse geboren. Sein Vater war Schneider und seine Mutter Zuschneiderin. Als Pierre-Auguste drei Jahre alt war, zog die Familie nach Paris und fand Unterkunft in der Nähe des Louvre, der damals nicht nur ein Museum war, sondern auch Büros und Wohnräume beherbergte.

Mit 13 Jahren trat Renoir eine Lehre als Porzellanmaler an. Bereits mit 15 Jahren beherrschte er dies so gut, dass ihm die Manufaktur anspruchsvolle Malarbeiten anvertraute, die sonst den erfahrenen Porzellanmalern vorbehalten waren. Von seinem Lohn konnte er eigenständig leben und sogar seine Eltern unterstützen. Um diese Zeit setzten sich jedoch mechanische Druckverfahren für Porzellan durch, und die Manufaktur musste schließen, als er 17 Jahre alt war. Renoir musste seinen Lebensunterhalt nun mit dem Bemalen von Fächern und Markisen und dem Kolorieren von Wappen bestreiten.

Tänzerin, 1874 (Danseuse)

Renoirs impressionistische Phase

1861–1864 studierte Renoir Malerei in der Klasse des Schweizer Malers Charles Gleyre. Bald jedoch suchte er sich andere künstlerische Vorbilder als seinen Lehrer, nämlich Gustave Courbet und Díaz de la Peña, denen er zufällig bei der Malarbeit im Wald begegnet war und die ihn ermunterten, stets nach dem Leben und dem Modell zu malen. Er schloss Freundschaft mit Claude MonetAlfred Sisley und Frédéric Bazille und malte mit ihnen gemeinsam im Freien. Im Jahr 1864 wurde zum ersten Mal ein Bild von ihm für den Pariser Salon, oft einfach nur Salon genannt, angenommen. Im Salon von 1868 war er mit dem Bild Lise mit dem Sonnenschirm vertreten, für das Lise Tréhot Modell stand. Sie war von etwa 1865 bis 1871 Renoirs Geliebte.

Seine Erfahrungen im Freien wirkten sich auch auf seine Atelierbilder aus. Kritiker wurden auf ihn aufmerksam und lobten die Frische und Natürlichkeit seiner Bilder. Trotzdem fanden sich kaum Käufer. 1869 lebte Renoir in solch bitterer Armut, dass er, wie er später selbst schrieb, nicht einmal jeden Tag etwas zu essen hatte.

Die Loge, 1874 (La loge)

1870, im Deutsch-Französischen Krieg, meldete sich Renoir freiwillig zu einem Kavallerieregiment, wurde jedoch nur weit weg von den Kampfhandlungen stationiert. 1871, nach Paris zurückgekehrt, geriet er in den Aufstand der Pariser Kommune. Von den Kommunarden in die Wehrpflicht gezwungen, bekam er große Schwierigkeiten, als er aus Paris zu fliehen versuchte und von den Truppen der Gegenseite gefangengenommen wurde.

Nach dem Krieg nahm er bald wieder Kontakt zu seinen Freunden Monet und Sisley auf und verbrachte in den Sommern der 1870er Jahre viel gemeinsame Zeit mit ihnen und mit Édouard Manet. Ein bekanntes Gemälde von ihm aus jener Zeit zeigt die Familie Monet im Garten ihres Hauses in Argenteuil. Von Manet gibt es eine eigene Interpretation des gleichen Themas. Beide, Manet und Renoir, hatten ihre Staffeleien nebeneinander gestellt und die gleiche Szene gemalt.

Tanz im Garten der Moulin de la Galette, 1876
(Bal au Moulin de la Galette)

Renoir liebte es, gesellschaftliche Anlässe darzustellen und Lebensfreude in Bilder umzusetzen. Trotz der Bewegungen der dargestellten Personen wie bei Tanz im Moulin de la Galette und der Ausgelassenheit integrierte er kleine Stillleben.

Anders als Monet und die anderen Impressionisten bemühte sich Renoir weiterhin um die Aufnahme seiner Bilder in den Salon, beteiligte sich jedoch 1874 mit großem Enthusiasmus an der Vorbereitung und Durchführung der ersten Impressionisten-Ausstellung, ebenso an der Ausstellung von 1876.

Es gelang ihm, Bilder an die Kunsthändler Paul Durand-Ruel und Père-Martin zu verkaufen. Durand-Ruel, ein großer Förderer der Impressionisten, gab ihm Geld, so dass sich Renoir ein Atelier mieten konnte. Diese Einnahmen waren jedoch so knapp bemessen, dass sie gerade eben ausreichten, um den Lebensunterhalt zu bestreiten.

Seine finanzielle Situation wendete sich Mitte der 1870er Jahre zum Guten, als Renoir den Zollbeamten Victor Chocquet und den Verleger Georges Charpentier kennenlernte und von ihnen Aufträge für Porträts und ein großes Tafelbild bekam. Durch die Fürsprache der einflussreichen Madame Charpentier weitete sich sein Bekanntenkreis in der besseren Gesellschaft aus, und er erhielt in den folgenden Jahren so viele Porträtaufträge, dass sie ihm zeitweise sogar lästig wurden.

In den Jahren 1881/1882 unternahm Renoir drei große Reisen nach Algerien, Italien und wieder nach Algerien. 1882 porträtierte er in Palermo den Komponisten Richard Wagner.

Nachimpressionistische Lebensphase

Moulin Huet Bay (1883)

Nach einem Aufenthalt 1881 in Italien, während er ein um 1400 verfasstes Handbuch für Maler las, orientierte er sich stark an Raffaels Fresken und an Jean-Auguste-Dominique Ingres, es begann die Ingres-Periode oder auch trockene Periode. Renoir begann sich von Grund auf neu zu orientieren, er wandte sich vom Spontanen ab und zeichnete die Formen schärfer, blieb aber bei den Motiven voller Lebensfreude. Er wandte sich auch vom Impressionismus ab und dem Klassizismus zu. Eine Reise im September 1883 führte ihn auf die Insel Guernsey, wo eine Reihe von Gemälden entstanden, unter anderem Moulin Huet Bay.[1]

Die großen Badenden, 1887 (Les Grandes Baigneuses)

Um 1883 herum geriet Renoir in eine schöpferische Krise. Beim Publikum und bei der Kritik spürte er in jener Zeit laues Desinteresse, und über sich selbst äußerte er, dass er sich in einer künstlerischen Sackgasse befinde. Die Arbeit jener Jahre kulminierte in dem Bild Die großen Badenden von 1887, in das er Jahre an Vorstudien investiert hatte und das eine Fülle kunsthistorischer Zitate enthält.

Am 23. März 1885 gebar ihm seine Geliebte Aline Charigot, die er Anfang der 1880er Jahre kennengelernt und die ihn nach Italien begleitet hatte, sein erstes Kind, den Sohn Pierre Renoir,[2] der später als Schauspieler bekannt wurde. Am 14. April 1890 heiratete Renoir Aline. Der zweite Sohn Jean Renoir, geboren 1894, ergriff später den Beruf des Filmregisseurs. Der dritte Sohn Claude, auch „Coco“ genannt, wurde am 4. August 1901 geboren.

Ende der 1880er Jahre fand er seine Freude an der Farbigkeit und am flüssigen, sinnlichen Malen wieder. Die Abkehr von seinem impressionistischen Malstil der 1870er Jahre blieb jedoch endgültig.

Pierre-Auguste Renoir, um 1910

Um 1892 zeigten sich bei Renoir die ersten Anzeichen von rheumatoider Arthritis. Damals wurde fälschlicherweise Gicht diagnostiziert. Er merkte durch mehrere Kuraufenthalte, dass es ihm im milden Mittelmeerklima besser ging, und zog 1907 dauerhaft nach Les Collettes, einem Landhaus mit großem Garten in Cagnes-sur-Mer bei Nizza. Im 20. Jahrhundert entstand dort ihm zu Ehren ein Museum.[3]

Trotz seiner Krankheit malte er unaufhörlich. Renoir saß mittlerweile im Rollstuhl und ließ sich, nach eigenen Angaben, täglich den Pinsel an die Hand binden, da er ihn nicht mehr halten konnte. Durch Aristide Maillol erhielt Renoir die Möglichkeit mit dessen Schüler Richard Guino zusammenzuarbeiten. So konnte Renoir noch einmal mit dieser Zusammenarbeit Werke wie u. a. Venus Victrix, Die große Wäscherin (1917) und Mutter und Kind (1916) verwirklichen[4].

Pïerre-Auguste Renoir starb im Jahr 1919 im Alter von 78 Jahren und hinterließ rund 6000 Werke: Landschaftsbilder, Stillleben, Porträts von Erwachsenen und Kindern, Aktbilder, Bilder vom Tanzvergnügen und vom Familienleben. Sein Grab befindet sich auf dem Friedhof in Essoyes im Département Aube in der Champagne.

 

[Auszug aus Wikipedia vom 31.12.2021]

de_DE